Student Speaker


This year the Lions of Multiple District-4 of California are proud to sponsor the 81st annual Student Speakers Contest. Our challenging topic for the 2018 contest is:

 “Integrity and Civility Play What Role in Today’s Society?”


The Student Speakers Foundation was organized in 1960. Its father is Don Snyder, District Governor of 4-A3, 1958-59. He asked PIP Fred Smith and then International Director Dwight Stanford to join him as the organizers and first directors

of the Foundation. Don did all the work getting IRS and California taxing authorities approval. He is now a lifetime, honorary Director of the Foundation, as is Dwight Stanford.

Student Speaker Contest Completion Dates
by February 26, 2018 Club Contest
by March 19, 2018 Zone Contest
by April 03, 2018 Region Contest
by April 28, 2018 District Contest
by May 21, 2018 Area Contest
on  June 9, 2018 MD4 Final Contest


The Foundation’s first cash came from the profits of the Lions Goods Store at the next MD-4 convention. District Governor Al Mendel of Apple Valley, 1961-62, ran the store and suggested the gift. The first few years of the Foundation were a bit thorny. It was hard for the organization to collect money when it had very little prestige. Gradually the situation changed and the Foundation began to supplement the prizes which heretofore had been paid for entirely out of the MD-4 budget. Foundation funds come entirely from voluntary donations and income from the accumulated assets.


Past International President Fred Smith was the first president of the Foundation, followed by Past International Directors Dwight Stanford and Robert E. Anderson. Past District Governors Seeley J. Kondris and George “Jake” Jacobssen served between 1994 and 2002. The current president is PDG Gordon Wellman.Learn more about this year’s contest at the MD4 Student Speakers website.


For more information, contact the District 4-C1 Chairman: Mike Dahl (